Managing Members

Only Arts & Sciences Computing staff can add new users. However, if you are a group administrator, you can add any existing user as a member of your group and give them a certain set of permissions (i.e. a role).

How to Add a User to Your Site

To add a user, they will need to already have an account in Pages. If you are logged into Pages, you can check to see if someone already has an account by clicking 'User List' in the gray shortcut bar at the top of the page. If you've checked, and the individual does not yet have an account in pages, you can request a new account here.  To request an account, you will need to know their WUSTL Key username.

  1. Make sure you are logged into Pages.
  2. From your site home page, click on 'Members / Menu' in the upper right hand corner.
  3. In the popup that appears, click 'People.'
  4. You should see a full list of all active site members. To add a new member, click 'Add Member' in the top right.
  5. In the 'User name' field, begin typing the user's WUSTL Key username. (This can be found in the User List mentioned above - the username field.) As you type, a list of users will appear as options. Choose the correct one.
  6. If you want the user to only have view-only access, do not select a role. Otherwise, select a role based on the descriptions in the next section.
  7. Click 'Add Users'.
  8. You will see the new user listed with the other active users.

Role Options for Users (in a Site)

Member (Automatic) - If someone is a member of a group, they have this role. Members can comment (where enabled), view private group content, and edit any content where they are assigned as the author. (See Adjust the "Authoring Information".)

Contributor - All basic membership privileges plus the ability to create new articles (blog/forum posts).

Webform Results - All basic membership privileges plus the ability to view, edit, and delete all webform results in the site.

Managing Editor - May add/edit/delete all content except the site home page and manage all webforms and webform submissions. This is equivalent to the level of permissions most department content administrators had in Drupal 6 sites.

Administrator - All the permissions of a managing editor. May add and remove users from the group and modify site settings such as color scheme and site name.

Modify User Roles in Bulk 

  1. Make sure you are logged into Pages.
  2. From your site home page, click on 'Members / Menu' in the upper right hand corner.
  3. In the popup that appears, click 'People.'
  4. You should see a full list of all active site members along with their roles. A group member should only have one role. (Managing editor is a subset of the permissions given to an administrator.)
  5. Check the box next to each member that you want to give a role.
  6. In the operations drop-down, choose 'Modify OG User Roles' and click 'Execute'.
  7. Select the roles you want to add or remove. Click 'Next'.
  8. You should see a confirmation page with a list of the members you are modifying. Click confirm.

Remove Users in Bulk 

  1. Make sure you are logged into Pages.
  2. From your site home page, click on 'Members / Menu' in the upper right hand corner.
  3. In the popup that appears, click 'People.'
  4. You should see a full list of all active site members along with their roles.
  5. Check the box next to each member that you want to remove from the group.
  6. In the operations drop-down, choose 'Remove from group' and click 'Execute'.
  7. You should see a confirmation page with a list of the members you are removing. Click confirm.