GAP Year Resources


It should be noted that none of the GAP year experiences below are specifically endorsed by this course or by Washington University in St. Louis. Students need to research for themselves the legitimacy, background and strengths of each organization listed. Students should determine whether their organization of interest will provide an experience that would be worthwhile for an individual pursuing a career in medicine. This is an individual decision but one which any of your Pre-Health advisors will be happy to discuss with you.

 

General
Gap Year Advice (www.gapadvice.org)
RoadTrip Nation (www.roadtripnation.com)

Professional Organizations
American Medical Association (www.ama-assn.org
American Medical Women’s Association (www.amwa-doc.org
Association of American Medical Colleges (www.aamc.org)  

Student Organizations
American Medical Student Association (www.amsa.org)
Studentdoc (www.studentdoc.com)
The Student Doctor Network (www.studentdoctor.net

Volunteer/Internships
General
Americorps-State & National (www.americorps.gov
City Year (www.cityyear.org
Global Volunteers (www.globalvolunteers.org
Idealist-Action Without Borders (www.idealist.org
One Small Planet (www.onesmallplanet.com/geninfo.htm
Public Allies (www.publicallies.org
Peace Corps (www.peacecorps.gov
ServeNet (www.servenet.org
Teach for America (www.teachforamerica.org
Transitions Abroad (www.transitionsabroad.com
United Nations Volunteers (www.unv.org
World Teach (www.worldteach.org)

Faith Based
American Jewish World Services (www.ajws.org
Avodah, Jewish Service Corps (www.avodah.net
Catholic Network of Volunteer Service (www.cnvs.org
Lutheran Volunteer Service Corps (www.lutheranvolunteercorps.org
Impact Ministries (www.citiimpact.org
Mission Finder (www.missionfinder.org
Vincentian Service Corps (www.vscorps.org)

Medical
Africa Inland Mission (www.aimint.org/usa)

American Refugee Committee International (www.archq.org
Center for Purposeful Living, The (www.purposeful.org
Child Family Health International (www.cfhi.org)

Doctors of the World (www.doctorsoftheworld.org)
Global Outreach International (www.globaloutreach.org)

Health Care Volunteer (www.healthcarevolunteer.org
)
Health Volunteers Overseas (www.hvousa.org)

International Center for Equal Healthcare Access (ICEHA) (www.iceha.org)
International Medical Corps (www.imc-la.org
International Medical Volunteers (www.imva.org
International Service Learning (www.islonline.org
Interplast (www.interplast.org)
LALMBA (www.lalmba.org)
M. E. D. I. C. O. (www.medico.org
)
Doctors without Borders (www.doctorswithoutborders.org)

Medical Expeditions International (www.medexinternational.org
)
Medical Missions Response (www.mmronline.org/default.aspx)

Mercy Ships (www.mercyships.org)
Minnesota International Health Volunteers (www.mihv.org)

Northwest Medical Teams International, Inc. (www.northwestmedicalteams.org)

Operation Rainbow (www.operationrainbow.org
)
Operation Smile (www.operationsmile.org
)
Peacework Medical Projects (www.peacework.org
)
Physicians For Peace (www.physiciansforpeace.org
)
Projects Abroad (www.projects-abroad.org
Project C.U.R.E. (www.projectcure.org)

Project Concern International (www.projectconcern.org
)
Project Hope (www.projecthope.org
Seva Foundation (www.seva.org)
Unite for Sight (www.uniteforsight.org
World Concern (www.worldconcern.org)